Week 2 Entry:Facebook Generation

This past week, between spending a day updating my Facebook and reading the New York Times article on live news feed, I felt like there was some sort of connection between the conclusion the times article came to and my doing status updates every two hours. I admit that I have become someone who logs into Facebook every other hour when I am not in class, but updating my status update every two hours was something new for me, as I normally only do it once a week. The application of what the Time’s article “ambient awareness” is what I felt by constantly updating my status updates every two hours. In allowing for my online friends to know what I was doing or how I felt, I felt both like I was being informative about my life and being kind of annoying to those that did not want to know what I was doing every second of the day.

Furthermore, the day of updating all day for two days allowed me to see more of the person who I was compared to my online friends who have updated even more often than the day I had to. As weird as it may sound, having know myself  has made me think that I know everything there is about me, yet as the reading suggests, having to think out and what how I felt or what I am doing made me more aware of who I am.  As the author says “It drags you out of your own head.” I guess the day of updating from how I felt about the dry Marx readings for sociology 101 to how excited I felt about finding out that Tina Fey would be doing a Sarah Palin impression just reminded me that I am a guy who still has some time set aside for fun. I always assume that I am in a rush to get work done with almost no free time. It only takes a little bit to remind you that things are not as bad as they seem I guess.

Leave a comment